Essential Listening

Hello, friends.

I have been thinking more about what I want to do with this blog (especially since I started another blog here.  And I put up a similar discussion of what the heck am I doing with a blog considering I really don’t think I’m that interesting??  But anyway), and it’s in part inspired by a friend of mine who started an LP channel on YouTube and in part a professional/personal interest in continuing to work on my terminology in expressing my interests and if I can apply this interest to my work.  Which would be cool!

So I came across this lecture, and it wasn’t exactly what I was hoping for.  I was hoping there would be a slightly more critical bent to it, whereas the lecture goes the opposite direction–allowing yourself to love music and let it really wash over you.  Although I don’t agree with some of the things he argues (like that you have to listen to everything to truly love it.  That smacks to me of those elite fans who think that neophytes aren’t ~really~ fans, and it also seems impractical.  I might be able to listen to all of one band, but it seems unlikely I’ll have time to listen to all alternative rock.  I understand the basic principle of the more you listen to, the more you will understand, and I do prefer to listen to a whole discography, but you can say you love whatever you want.  But I digress), I appreciate the allowance for emotion and nostalgia in appreciating music, because that is mostly what I do.

This journal was established simply as a place for me to post things that tickle my fancy.  To that end, it is fairly self-reflexive, but maybe it isn’t a bad thing to use these blogs to share joy and nostalgia.  But I would also like to expand on my critical terminology for analyzing music–not musically (I think that ship has sailed, no matter how much I’m learning), but culturally.  If that distinction makes sense.  I guess we’ll find out.

So whereas the other timeline gets three updates a week at least, with this blog’s timeline, I’m just going to aim for a post each weekend, with some rambling on aesthetic pleasure, critical reflection, or both.  Or I just ramble about something completely different.  Stay tuned to find out!

See you next time!  Be well!

One thought on “Essential Listening

Leave a Reply

