Album Commentary: Sessions @AOL Music – Audioslave

So, this popped up on Rhapsody as a “new album” (I know what it means, but at the same time, they really need to work more on their organizational scheme), and so of course I listened to it, because I need the sweet, sweet vocals of Chris Cornell like breathing.

I was a little disappointed.

I don’t like talking about things I don’t like on here, because what’s the point?  If I don’t like something, I don’t have to listen to it.  But I need things to talk about while I work on more playlists to share, and it’s not like this is bad.  It’s still Audioslave, and a few of the most famous tracks.  There were even two tracks I hadn’t heard–“Loud Love” and “Sleep Now in the Fire.”  So that was excellent.  But, maybe just the recording, it felt…a little weak for Audioslave.  I never got to hear the band in concert, but I have heard Chris Cornell live, and I love his performance.  But this recording underwhelmed me for a live track.

Still, there were new tracks for me since I hadn’t sought the recording out before, and for that, I am grateful.

Track Listing:

  1. Be Yourself
  2. Loud Love
  3. Doesn’t Remind Me
  4. Out of Exile
  5. Sleep Now in the Fire (weirdly reminds me of “Renegades of Funk.”  Which I guess is fitting.)

Rock on, friends, and take care until next time!  Check out my other posts, and you can now be updated on new posts via twitter @interceptorismy

Leave a Reply

