Top Ten (Fifteen): Favorite Songs by David Bowie

(This isn’t on my list, but I think it’s a necessary intro song given the circumstances.)

Needless to say, this is a very hard list to make (I’ve already upped it to 15 from 10, don’t judge), but I feel like doing it in honor of a great performer.  I don’t even consider myself a ~huge~ David Bowie fan (I mostly listen to his top hits, after all, which for whatever reason I consider the mark of a Big Fan?  But that is neither here nor there, and as I’m listening to a recording from the Reality Tour [which I missed seeing, but I have the shirt from] I realize how much I love him, ah), but he was hugely influential on music and on me.  And I do love the best of albums that I listen to.  “The Labyrinth” was a defining film for me, and I’m sad I chose going to the last class of a semester instead of skipping it for a Bowie concert, but I’ve always put school first.  /nerd

Anyway.  I have a love/hate with celebrity culture, but here’s my little discussion in honor of David Bowie.  I include some discussion and reminiscences, so hang in there.  I tried to choose based on ones that I hear/listen to the most, but it is REALLY HARD.  This is the Bowie Appreciation Post.

Here’s to you, Bowie in Space.

15. You Remind Me of the Babe: Okay, it’s a terrible song, lol, but it is sort of a good litmus test of nerdiness, so it has a soft spot in my life.

14. Be My Wife: I really only hear this one when I watch the Reality concert, but I like some songs to represent my romantic tendencies, and this is a nice one.

13.Golden Years: This song has really taken on a life of it’s own, so here it is in one of my favorite music videos for Highlander’s Methos:

12. Fame: Fame-fame-fame-fame–okay, I just like singing these a lot.

11. Fashion: Beep beep!

10. Under Pressure: Because, honestly, this one has to go on a Bowie list, right?

9. Modern Love: I love how energetic a lot of his songs are.  Their genre really isn’t easily defined.  But they’re fun, they contain little pithy statements, just enough to think about, while still being entertaining.

8. Space Oddity: And now we get to the space saga songs, and I really enjoy the self-referential nature of the next four songs.

7. Ziggy Stardust: BUT WHERE WERE THE SPIDERS?  My brother and I were once planning a parody of Harry Potter, and Harry’s parents were going to be musicians, and one of the books was going to be “Harriet Cobbler and the Spiders from Mars.”  Every time I hear this song I just want to write it, lol.

6. Life on Mars: See above.  Also, it reminds me of Elton John’s “Rocketman,” so it’s a fun musical place.

5. Ashes to Ashes: This ends the self-referential block, so I wanted to put them all together.  What’s the point of being an artist and not reflecting on your own work?

4. The Man Who Sold the World: Another moment where music and fandom collide with Weiss  Kreuz and this song.  I just love it.

3. I’m Afraid of Americans: This song has always been important, as an American.

2. Labyrinth songs.  Just.  The rest of them.  This movie has been (perhaps overly) influential, and The Goblin King’s romantic pessimism resonates with me.  Just watch the movie.

1. Little Drummer Boy/Peace on Earth: David Bowie & Bing Crosby

I watch this every year at Christmas since I knew it existed.  It’s worth watching the whole sketch (and the recent parody of it), but this is enough.  I like to imagine everyone does care about peace on earth.

I think that’s a good one to end on.  A long and distinguished career, Bowie.  Much appreciation.

Leave a comment